file permissions -- maybe a stupid question

General help with installation, scripts, etc....

file permissions -- maybe a stupid question

Postby sjsorell » Mon Jan 16, 2006 2:48 pm

Hi! I'm a bit new at this and was wondering about file permissions in the file manager. I'm working with Joomla and sometimes I can't write anything because permissions dont allow it. If I allow all permissions on everything (world read/write/execute) in my public_html will that mean that a guest can edit all those files? Or does it mean my "world" (those I want to allow to edit stuff) can edit anything?
If the first is true how can I make joomla have permissions to edit everything?

Thanks
sjsorell

Postby kevin » Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:54 pm

Hi,

You should not need to edit the permissions on files/folders. Did you use the autoinstaller within Cpanel for Joomla installation?
kevin
CWH Staff

Postby sjsorell » Tue Jan 17, 2006 1:13 pm

Yup, I used the autoinstaller but whenever I need to, lets say, write changes to configuration.php it comes up with an error that the file is unwriteable. So I go and allow world write permissions to that file and things save ok. I change them back after. Is it a problem with Joomla?

Scott
sjsorell

Joomla/Mambo WYSIWYG editor

Postby sjsorell » Sun Jan 22, 2006 2:16 pm

hey,
Ok here are some things I found out: configuration.php is automatically set to be unwriteable because otherwise it'd be a security risk. You have to change it back and forth if you're interested in security.
The other problem I was having was actually with the WYSIWYG editor in Joomla. The browser kept giving me errors saying "access denied." I found info in another forum:

hi again,
well, i ran through this posting in another forum:

Why my Joomla/Mambo WYSIWYG editor is not working and don't allow me to either edit or save?