WordPress Upgrades

This is a good starting point

WordPress Upgrades

Postby Cricket » Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:10 pm

I'm considering using Fantatico to install WordPress.

I have no experience using external databases or phpMyAdmin.

Is an installation using Fantastico close enough to the one recommended (and assumed) by WordPress that I'll be able to use their instructions for backing up, upgrading, and customizing, without confusion?

Thanks!

Cricket
Cricket

Postby randy » Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:32 am

Hello,

Yes, you can install WordPress using Fantastico. You will be able to customize your application and backup the database; and upgrade the installation when there is new version available with Fantastico.

All normal WordPress functions will be available in a WordPress installation through Fantastico.

If you have further questions, please let us know.
randy

Postby Cricket » Mon Feb 16, 2009 9:54 am

That didn't quite answer the question I intended to ask.

Does the Fantastico installation do things the same way that WordPress recommends for a manual installation? Are the file locations the same? Will I be able to edit the wp-config file? Will I be able to add plugins and learn as I go, or would I have to wait for Fantastico?
Cricket

Next question

Postby Cricket » Tue Feb 17, 2009 12:06 pm

I went ahead and used Fantastico to install WordPress. I'm now doing the Upgrade available through it via

onebit.ca/wp/wp-admin/update-core.php .

(I hadn't expected an upgrade option from within the program. Nice!)

What is the Host Name? I've tried

onebit.ca/wp, and several variations.

Thanks!

Cricket

PS I got the "You can't post URLs because you're too new here" message.
Cricket

Scratch the previous post

Postby Cricket » Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:42 pm

Previous post was written quickly, when the "simple" upgrade didn't work, and probably didn't give enough details.