Export host data to MS-Access for offline use

This is the place to ask before signup up!
Anyone can post

Export host data to MS-Access for offline use

Postby bowlesj » Tue May 20, 2014 3:32 pm

Hi,

I am an MS-access programmer with about 17 years of experience programming it. I do not know much about web hosting or publishing an MS-access database to the web. I was wondering what hosting service (if any) could be used for this idea at a fairly low cost per month (no more than $15 to $20 per month).

I would be setting up a club to use this (maybe 200 to 1000 members eventually but in time it might expand to branches in other cities). To give you a picture of what is going on, club members are musicians. Events are held (jam sessions). Members have a master record with their name, instrument, country code and city code and that is almost all (no personal critical info). They update a list of the songs they know with drop down boxes. There is a master songs file which they may need to add songs to before they update their personal song list. There is an event locations file with slots for each event and they all can schedule themselves in to a slot (a slot is a place they stand on the stage).

Club members (maybe 200 a day) would need to be able to export the web host database (table by table ) into a set of text files in csv or tab separated format within one directory on a members machine. Users could execute this export function with a single button click or shortcut key (it must be easy for them). I was hoping I could program this button by myself much like I could put a button out on an MS-Access form and manipulate it etc with VBA code.