Page 1 of 1

Wordpress Multisite - Subdomain

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2012 9:46 pm
by dmuir
I am attempting to create a Wordpress Multisite in my public_html directory using the Subdomain rather then Subdirectory method and when I create a new site I am unable to view or go to the dashboard of this site. Does CanadianWebhosting.com support "Subdomain" multisite installs or will I need to do a "Subdirectory" install?
Thanks,
DMuir

Re: Wordpress Multisite - Subdomain

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:38 am
by david.peakes
DMuir,

Our servers do support WordPress Multisite with Subdomains. You can refer the steps mentioned below to enable WordPress Multisite with Subdomains.

1) Login to cPanel, go to subdomains and add create a subdomain with an asterix (*) sign.

2) Add this into wp-config.php to enable multisite.

define('WP_ALLOW_MULTISITE', true);

3) Login to your WordPress dashboard and go to Tools>>Network (.com/wp-admin/network.php)

4) Add a directory named blogs.dir to the wp-content directory. It should look like /public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir

The CHMOD write permissions should be something like 755 to allow the server to write to the directory.

5) Add the following to the wp-config file.

=============
define( 'MULTISITE', true );
define( 'SUBDOMAIN_INSTALL', true );
$base = '/';
define( 'DOMAIN_CURRENT_SITE', 'domain_name' );
define( 'PATH_CURRENT_SITE', '/' );
define( 'SITE_ID_CURRENT_SITE', 1 );
define( 'BLOG_ID_CURRENT_SITE', 1 );
=============

6) Add the following to the .htaccess file.

=============
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /
RewriteRule ^index.php$ - [L]

# uploaded files
RewriteRule ^files/(.+) wp-includes/ms-files.php?file=$1 [L]

RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -f [OR]
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} -d
RewriteRule ^ - [L]
RewriteRule . index.php [L]
=============

If you face any issues, please open a support ticket with the exact steps to recreate the issue.

Re: Wordpress Multisite - Subdomain

PostPosted: Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:51 pm
by fboulay
I have an addon domain (Active) that I want to add to a multisite wordpress installation. I added what was indicated and nothing. I only get a blank page.